2023 Award Season!

Congratulations to Our 2023 Century & Tricentennial Farms

Meet Our Business of the Year - Sunnyside Farms

Penn Yan FFA is Our 2023 Chapter of the Year

Jacob & Jordan Fisher are Our 2023 Next Generation Farmers

2023 Farm Advocate of the Year - Lisa Ford

2023 Ag Promoter of the Year - Broome County AITC

The above videos tell wonderful stories of our 2023 honoree class. To apply/nominate for a 2024 award, application links are provided below. Look for the green button after each category. More videos featuring our 2022 honorees are also available for viewing. If you have any questions, contact Ann Noble Shephard at

Distinguished Service Citation Award

Application Deadline: September 15 each year
To see a live interview of Dick Church upon receiving his award, go to our Facebook page.

For over six decades, it has been the pleasure of the NYS Agricultural Society to award this high honor to an individual who has dedicated a lifetime of service, resulting in outstanding contributions to New York agriculture.

Business of the Year Award

Application Deadline: September 15 each year

For over 18 years, the Society has presented Business of the Year honors to an agribusiness, recognizing the quality, leadership and innovation they demonstrate that enhances the integrity of our industry. 

"Cap" Creal Journalism Award

Application Deadline: September 15 each year

For over 40 years, the historic NYS Agricultural Society has recognized well-written, informative, and timely news stories about agriculture in NYS. Formats range from printed news story, editorial, audio/visual news clip, photography and blogs/online feature. In 2023, the award will recognize an emerging format and/or innovative communicator. To make a nomination, contact Ann Shephard directly at

"Cap" Creal Background - Download

Ag Promotion Award

Application Deadline: September 15 each year

The Ag Promotion Award was launched in 2009 to recognize individuals and groups for their efforts to improve the understanding of agriculture in rural, suburban and urban communities of NYS. 

Farm Safety Award

Applications due September 15 each year

Initiated in 2005, the NYS Agricultural Society's Farm Safety Award recognizes farm operators and advocates who are developing and implementing unique systems to protect employees and farm resources.  

NYS FFA Chapter of the Year

Applications due September 15 each year

FFA is among the largest youth organizations in the US. Founded in 1925, FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. It's the honor of the NYS Agricultural Society to recognize local chapters who are doing outstanding work to develop local youths and the communities where they reside.

There are three main criteria for awarding chapter of the year honors:
  1.  Growing leadership
  2.  Building communities
  3.  Strengthening agriculture
Chapters are required to complete basic information and describe program/project activities.

Next Generation Farmer Award

Applications due September 15 each year
T&S Crop service was born on a residential street in Warsaw, NY in 1985 and has continued to grow. They have sprayers, trailers, fertilizers and apply crop protection to well over 130,000 acres.Congratulations to our 2022 Next Generation Farmer Award recipient!

The NYS Agricultural Society honors established producers and industry newcomers who are together farming in new and vibrant ways with the Next Generation Farmer Award. For NY agriculture to be successful long term, a next generation of innovative farmer is needed to work the land, plant crops, raise livestock and feed our global population.

Century, Bicentennial & Tricentennial Farm Awards

Applications due September 15 each year.
Seven farms, including two tricentennial farms were recognized in 2023!

The Century, Bicentennial and Tricentennial Farm program is testament to the fine traditions of progressive agriculture and community service by farm families in New York State. The program began in 1937 and honors NY farms in continuous operation on the same land by the same family for 100 years or more. A limited number of deserving farm families are recognized annually by the Society. For farms submitting applications, eligibility is determined by their respective anniversary date being before or on the date of the annual Forum.

2022 Ag Promotion Award

2022 Ag Business of the Year

2022 Cap Creal Journalism Awards

2022 Farm Safety Award

2022 FFA Chapter of the Year Award

2022 Century and Bicentennial Awards

2022 Next Generation Farmer Award

Facebook Live interview with our 2022 Distinguished Service Citation Award Winner